The Disobedience

Wow! This one is one for the books. As I’m reading 1 (first) Samuel chapter 15. The word disobedience keeps popping in my head.

Have you ever been in a situation where your mother or father gave you an instruction but you didn’t follow all the way through with it. For example, my mom told me (instruction) to wash the dishes, sweep the floor, and cut off the lights. I decide that I’m going to wash the dishes, sweep the floor, but I’ll cut off the light later because I’m not going to bed yet. But I end of falling asleep and never turning off the light.

My mom wakes up notices the light is on wakes me out of my sleep and now I’m upset but it’s my fault because I didn’t follow the directions all the way through.

Have you ever been in a situation where you obeyed some but not the full directions which resulted in consequences?

Well this was the life of King Saul. As I’m reading I’m noticing how Saul wasn’t really good at listening and following through on what God told him to do. Not just in this chapter but in chapters before.

I watched (and I say watch because when I’m reading it’s almost like I’m watching a movie lol) how God gives King Saul specific instructions and he just moves outside of God everytime (go read 1 Samuel 13-15). Which resulted in him losing his place as the anointed king of Israel. So of course I begin to examine me.

How many times have I drop the ball in being fully obedient to God, His Word, and those in positions of authority over my life? If I can be completely truthful it’s an area that I struggle in greatly.

But y’all, I’m at a place where I don’t want to be that person anymore so I have been and continue to make different decisions even when there difficult ones. I realized through reading that some of King Saul’s disobedience stemmed from different areas like fear, pride, and a know it all spirit. Those things have to be dealt with in each and everyone of us in order for us to successfully move forward the way God sees fit.

TRUTH be told, each of our actions whether good or bad have a rippling effect on those around us as it did in King Saul’s life. We have to look at our true intent when doing things, look at what’s happening in our heart in order for us to truly repent.

Let’s examine ourselves together so we can be on the obedient side of the fence with the Lord our God.

Be Sweet 🍯

Leave a comment